Ukraine: EU issues statement on Russian land ownership decree affecting Crimea

Photo: European Union
Photo: European Union

On 1 April, the EU issued a statement in response to Russia’s recent presidential decree. According to this decree, most of Crimea and Sevastopol are added to the list of Russian border territories where non-Russian citizens are not allowed to own land.

“The European Union does not recognise the illegal annexation of the Crimean peninsula by Russia, which is a clear violation of international law,” said the EU in its statement. “Therefore, the European Union does not recognise this decree, which is yet another attempt to forcibly integrate the illegally-annexed peninsula into Russia.” The EU underlined that the decree could also lead to the arbitrary deprivation of property.

The EU urged Russia to stop all violations of international law on the Crimean peninsula, and reiterated its support for Ukraine’s independence, sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognised borders.

Find out more

Read the full statement