Georgia: Winners of 2019 EU Prize for Journalism announced

Photo: European Union
Photo: European Union

On 22 January, the EU Delegation to Georgia held an award ceremony for the winners of the 2019 EU Prize for Journalism. The event took place in Tbilisi, Georgia, and presented awards in six categories covering print, broadcast, online, and photo journalism.

“The EU has been awarding journalism in Georgia since 2012,” said Ambassador Carl Hartzell, Head of EU Delegation to Georgia. He added, “The aim is to inspire journalists and media towards high quality, ethical work, which is key to a vibrant democracy. We are impressed with the submissions and finalists this year, and I strongly encourage everyone to read and see the winning pieces themselves.”

The winners of the 2019 EU Prize for Journalism are:

Nino Tarkhnishvili – best story in print or online media category

Beso Gvenetadze – best feature story in broadcast or online media category

Giorgi Mgeladze – best investigative story in print, online, or broadcast media category

Jimsher Rekhviashvili – best online or print blog, opinion or column in print, online or broadcast media category

Lasha Tsertsvadze – most innovative and original piece of work in print, broadcast or online media category

Dato Koridze – best documentary photo reflecting EU values

In addition, the European Union Monitoring Mission presented Mamuka Kuparadze with its special prize for conflict-sensitive journalism.

Find out more

Press release

EU Prize for Journalism