EU to adopt Common Maritime Agenda for Black Sea at ministerial meeting in Bucharest

Photo: European Union
Photo: European Union

On 21 May, ministers from seven Black Sea countries – Bulgaria, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russia, Turkey and Ukraine – will meet in the Romanian capital of Bucharest for a ministerial meeting to endorse the Common Maritime Agenda for the Black Sea.

With this, the Black Sea region joins the rest of the sea basins bordering the EU in setting a basin-wide initiative for more – and more sustainable – economic growth. Countries will pursue three goals: healthy marine and coastal ecosystems, a competitive, innovative and sustainable blue economy, and investment in the blue economy.

The meeting will be the result of a process initiated and backed by the European Commission. Between 2015 and 2018 alone, the EU has supported the region’s blue economy with more than €13 million. Following the endorsement, the countries are invited to set up a list of projects that may qualify for further public or private investment.

These projects may include – but are not limited to – fisheries and aquaculture research, marine litter harvesting and recycling, tourism, awareness raising on marine environmental issues, improving the economic viability of the (small-scale) fisheries sector, and introducing innovative marine technologies and IT monitoring tools for fishery vessels.

More information on the meeting will be available on the official Twitter page of European Commission’s Directorate-General for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries (DG MARE):

Find out more

EU support to Black Sea - factsheet (in English)

EU support to Black Sea – factsheet (in Russian)

Background information on the EU’s Black Sea Synergy initiative