Eastern Partnership: EU and its six Eastern partner countries endorse joint declaration on transport cooperation

Photo: European Union
Photo: European Union

Marking 10 years of cooperation within the Eastern Partnership (EaP), transport ministers from the 28 EU countries and its six Eastern partner countries met on 6 June in Luxembourg to discuss cooperation in the area of transport.

The main topics for discussion were road safety and infrastructure, including investments linked to the extended trans-European transport network, known as TEN-T.

Ministers endorsed a joint declaration on specific ways of taking forward this cooperation.

The event brought together EU Ministers responsible for transport and their counterparts from the six Eastern partners: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine.

The EU Commissioner for Transport, Violeta Bulc, and Commissioner for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, Johannes Hahn, reconfirmed the readiness of the Commission to assist the Eastern partner countries in the preparation of projects and the necessary sectoral reforms.

Find out more

Press release

Joint Declaration entitled “Eastern Partnership – Taking the Transport Cooperation Agenda Forward”