Delivering on a stronger partnership: the EU and its six Eastern partners agree to develop better transport links


On 6 June, the Romanian Presidency of the Council of the European Union, together with the European Commission, hosted the Eastern Partnership Ministerial Meeting on Transport.

The event brought together EU Ministers responsible for transport and their counterparts from the six Eastern partner countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine.

During the meeting, the EU and its partner countries endorsed a Joint Declaration entitled “Eastern Partnership – Taking the Transport Cooperation Agenda Forward”. This includes a commitment to continue working together on concrete results for connectivity under the Indicative TEN-T Investment Action Plan, while maintaining a level playing field and good governance standards.

Commissioner for Transport, Violeta Bulc, and for Commissioner for Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations, Johannes Hahn, reconfirmed the readiness of the Commission to assist the Eastern partnership countries in the preparation of projects and the necessary sectoral reforms.

Find out more

Press release

Joint Declaration entitled “Eastern Partnership – Taking the Transport Cooperation Agenda Forward”