European Commission (EC)

The body, or "college" as it is known, where the 27 Commissioners sit. Each member state appoints one Commissioner who is approved following a hearing at the European Parliament. The President and members of the EC are appointed for a period of five years, coinciding with the period for which the European Parliament is elected. Sometimes referred to as the EU's "executive", it combines administrative, executive, legislative and judicial activities and responsibilities. Its seat is in Brussels.
The Commission is divided into some 40 directorates-general (DGs) and services, which are subdivided into directorates, and the directorates into units. The Commission also administers a number of executive agencies.
Quick links
European Commission homepage 
Press room
Press Pack – EU’s role in the world
EC basic facts
External Action – European Neighbourhood Policy
External Action – Other European Countries
External Action – South Caucasus
External Action – Eastern Partnership
External Action – Mediterranean and Middle East
External Action – Euro-Med Partnership
External Action – Middle East Peace Process
EuropeAid – Regional Cooperation East
EuropeAid – Regional Cooperation South
Humanitarian Aid (ECHO)
External Trade – By Country
External Trade – Mediterranean
External Trade – South Caucasus (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia)
Enterprise and Industry – Mediterranean
Enterprise and Industry – Ukraine
Enterprise and Industry – Russia
External Energy Policy
Environment – Mediterranean Region
Environment - Eastern Neighbours and Russia
Education and Training – International Cooperation
Justice – ENP
Home Affairs – ENP