The Council, also known as the Council of Ministers, is the EU's main decision-making body in which member state ministers participate. It meets in nine different configurations, depending on the subject discussed, e.g. the “General Affairs and External Relations” configuration comprises Foreign Affairs Ministers. It has both executive and legislative powers. At the regular meetings, the Commissioner/s responsible for the issue under discussion also participate. Member states take turns to chair the council, for six months at a time. A ‘trio presidency’ is now in place, whereby the previous and the next presidency cooperate and consult with the country that is in the seat in order to ensure continuity. The Council is responsible for concluding negotiations with non-member states. It has also appointed special representatives in conflict areas.
Quick links:
Press releases
CFSP Statements
Eastern Europe and Central Asia
The EU and the Middle East Peace Process
The EU and the Mediterranean Region
Middle East/Gulf Region
On-going operations:
EU Monitoring Mission Georgia (EUMM Georgia)
Rule of Law Mission Georgia (EUJUST THEMIS)
EU Border Assistance Mission to Moldova and Ukraine (EU BAM Moldova – Ukraine)
EU Police Mission in the Palestinian Territories (EU POLCOPS)
Palestinian Territories Crossing Point  (EUBAM Rafah)
EU Special Representatives (Middle East, Moldova, South Caucasus – Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia)